The 50¢ Hat that brought a Million Dollar Smile

50¢ Hat that brought a Million Dollar Smile

50¢ Hat that brought a Million Dollar Smile

We had our annual community garage sale last week. The little gray-haired lady pulled up in our driveway in a car that could use servicing. She could be anyone’s grandmother. She was dressed modestly with a white sweater, bright aqua skirt, white ankle socks with brown sandals.

She smiled and walked towards us.  She said “good morning, isn’t it a gorgeous day!”  She was out for a “shopping spree”, and we were her first stop. She lives alone and is on a fixed income. She likes to shop at garage sales because “you never know when you’ll find a hidden treasure”.   There wasn’t much that interested her until she saw the hat rack with hats.  The kind-of-beige-black plaid hat with a large black bow caught her eye. It was one of my favorites for a long time.

While she considered it, she asked “does the bow go in the back?” I said yes and helped her put it on her head. “How do I look? You know I have a round face, and I don’t want it to make my face look fat.” I told her she looked very stylish, and the hat was perfect for her.  She was tickled but had to see for herself. We had a very large mirror leaning against the garage door that had not sold in 2 days. She stood in front of it and turned her head from side-to-side, then smiled some more. If I didn’t know better, I would say she blushed when John told her the hat was made for her!

She asked “how much?” and was so excited to hear it was 50¢ She handed me two quarters and kept admiring herself in the mirror. She said “you’re right! It doesn’t make my face look fat. I’m going to wear it the rest of the day”. She chatted a few more minutes, and then got in her car to “shop” the rest of the neighborhood.

Some people shop at garage sales for the “thrill of the barter”. Most of those who stopped by our house last weekend can’t afford to shop anywhere else like this little lady. She looked so cute walking up the neighbor’s driveway in her new hat, and I couldn’t resist taking a picture. “Bea Positive” was blessed to see her million-dollar smile.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. twentysevensmiles
    May 23, 2014 @ 01:39:28

    I am always so gratified when I hear LITTLE STORIES OF BIG EVENTS. Producing a smile on this member of the budget conscious elderly is a HUGE event in my book! Plus you tell a great story. Yours, Maureen Mullaney

    Reply

  2. theeditorsjournal
    Jun 01, 2014 @ 00:36:44

    Ha ha! As long as she is happy! And you’re so right a genuine smile is worth millions.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

