2014 Resolution: Take time to UNPLUG and DISCONNECT

One of my pet peeves is the insatiable need to be “connected” 24/7.  Yes, I love the security of having a phone at
my
fingertips in an emergency.  I also like the freedom to take a candid photo at any time.  If I’m not sure where I’m going, I can get directions using my Maps App.  However, there are a lot of times when I’d like to have a real conversation with a person(s) rather than look at the tops of their heads!

As introverted as I am, I like human connection.  I just can’t seem to mimic the face-to-face, back-and-forth conversation, voice inflection, etc. with my smartphone or PC.   These days people talk in “sound bytes”, write in text-code and need constant stimulation from the “all-too-accessible” information from our phones, tablet, PCs.  There are times when it really CAN wait . . . you don’t have to answer your phone or reply to the text or “check in” with social media. 

For 2014, Bea Positive asks you to give the gift of your time & attention not your presence accompanied with the latest technology. 

Here are my thoughts on when you should UNPLUG & DISCONNECT:

  • Time to Unplug & Disconnect

    Time to Unplug & Disconnect

    When you’re standing in a check-out line, and the cashier is waiting for your money.  The rest of us would like to check out, too.

  • When you’re in a public restroom with the toilets flushing and hand dryers blowing.  Finish your business and free up the stall!!
  • In a client presentation, turn your phone off or at least put it on mute!  Trust me, it’s distracting to you as well as your client.
  • In a company meeting, turn off your phone/tablet/PC.  As a presenter and as a participant, there is nothing more annoying than listening to others tap-tap-tap on their keyboards.
  • At a sporting event – either indoors or outdoors.  You’ve spent a good deal of money to be sitting at the event, so you should enjoy!
  • Sitting In a doctor’s office waiting with others.  We can all hear your conversation, so please be polite and leave the office.  Or maybe better yet, wait until your appointment is finished and call them back.
  • When receiving post-operative instructions, pay attention to the nurse and doctor!  Yes, I actually witnessed a nurse telling a man to hang up his phone because she wanted his full attention when picking up his wife.
  • When dining out with others, enjoy the meal and converse with your friends!  Please don’t be rude and call/text someone during the meal.  And please don’t play a video game!
  • Getting your hair cut and/or colored.  My hair stylist said this is very frustrating because she has to work around the phone and/or text messaging.
  • When you’re driving, the texting can wait.  You can’t look at the phone and the road at the same time.  I’ve tried it, and it scared me to death!

 

Quote

Leave a Reply

