I Believe In You

“We are what we believe we are.”
C. S. Lewis

There are two types of people I suspect have no issue believing the best about themselves every minute of every day:  narcissists and someone who scores 100 on the EQ (Emotional Intelligence quotient) test.  The rest of us have good days and bad days.  I like to call the bad days “mental potholes” from a lesson I learned from Bishop T.D. Jakes.  Circumstances and people can drive even the most optimistic person to hit a “mental pothole”.  It is during these times when it is so easy to lose your self-worth and self-confidence.  Yes, even “Bea Positive” can and will drive into one of these “potholes” and need a “tow truck” to get back on track. 

It is inevitable that we will encounter some kind of set-back or difficulty some time in our lives – a “mental pothole”.  Some of us probably feel like we’ve had more than our fair share!  Most people want to help by “doing something”.  Sometimes being a tow truck is as easy as saying “I believe in you”.

It’s a very simple phrase, but said from the heart, it is very powerful.  I want to share a few phrases from a card that I received from one of my dear friends, Lisa-Marie when I needed a “tow”:

I believe in you – in the things that are important to you and in the way you choose to live your life . . .  that you have many talents and wisdom to use them well . . .I believe in your courage, your compassion, your integrity, and your strength.  I believe in your goodness . . . I believe in you.”  ~Bobbie Burrow

We have all heard and been told that life is a journey, not a destination.  There have been many times throughout my journey, when I have I hit some major “potholes”.  If you have someone close to you who is going through a difficult time, remember that sometimes all you have to do is say “I believe in you”.

I hope you have a wonderful weekend and continue “Bea–ing Positive”!

Believe In Yourself

Leave a Reply

